5 artists that have influenced and inspired me

Through the years I have learned to appreciate art from different artists: visual, painters, musicians, cinematographers, sculptors, etc.
My favorite artists are the ones that at some point on my creative process have inspired me.

A través de los años he aprendido a apreciar el arte de diferentes artistas: visuales, pintores, músicos, cineastas, escultores, etc.
Mis artistas favoritos son los que en algún momento de mi proceso creativo me han inspirado.

1. Frida Kahlo

She was a mexican painter and feminist icon best known for her self portraits. I won’t talk about her on this post, because she will have her OWN post later. That’s how much I love her work.

Ella fue una pintora mexicana e icono feminista mejor conocida por sus autorretratos. No voy a hablar de ella en este post, porque ella tendrá su propio post después. Tanto así me gusta su trabajo.
IMG_1772 copy

2. Claude Monet
I learned about Monet’s beautiful work at school and I actually miss studying his paintings. He was pretty much THE GUY for French impressionist paintings. He lived in Giverny, France; where he began painting landscapes from his properties and lily ponds which became his main subject. It was in 1899 when he began to paint the series of water lilies in large scale that kept him busy for the next 20 years of his life.
I was at the MoMa (Museum of Modern Art) in New York City when I saw his water lilies and other paintings for the first time. It was a very emotional moment for me, I am not sure why… but I almost cried haha. It was just incredible to be there and look at his paintings after seeing them just online and in books. They are so pretty!

Aprendí acerca del trabajo de Monet en la escuela y de verdad extraño estudiar sus pinturas. Él fue el mero mero de las pinturas impresionistas francesas. Vivió en Giverny, Francia; donde comenzó a pintar paisajes de sus propiedades y estanques de lirios que se convirtieron en su tema principal. Fue en 1899 cuando comenzó a pintar la serie de nenúfares en gran escala que lo mantuvieron ocupado durante los próximos 20 años de su vida.
Estaba en el MoMa (Museo de Arte Moderno) en la ciudad de Nueva York cuando vi sus nenúfares y otras pinturas por primera vez. Fue un momento muy emotivo para mí, no estoy segura por qué… pero casi lloré jaja. Fue simplemente increíble estar allí y ver sus cuadros en persona después de solo verlos en internet y en libros. Son hermosos!

nyc_273

IMG_1765 copy

3. Richard Avedon
One of my favorite quotes of all times:
“And if a day goes by without my doing something related to photography, it’s as though I’ve neglected something essential to my existence, as though I had forgotten to wake up. I know that the accident of my being a photographer has made my life possible.”
I was able to attend one of his exhibits in New York City a few years ago. Again, after studying his work at school, being there and seeing his original work was very very cool. I just love that his work it’s so unique and beautiful. For many years he worked for Vogue and became well known for his innovative fashion work often set in peculiar places and for documenting the American Civil Rights Movement. He was also known for his self portraits, and photographing celebrities like Marilyn Monroe, Andy Warhol, John F. Kennedy, The Beatles and even Barack Obama back in 2004.

Una de mis citas favoritas:
“Y si pasa un día sin que yo haga algo relacionado con fotografía, es como si he descuidado algo esencial para mi existencia, como si hubiera olvidado despertar. Sé que el accidente de mi ser un fotógrafo ha hecho posible mi vida.” (algo así)
Tuve la oportunidad de ir a una de sus exposiciones en la ciudad de Nueva York hace unos años. Una vez más, después de estudiar su trabajo en la escuela, estar allí y ver sus fotos originales fue muy, muy padre. Me gusta que su trabajo es único y hermoso. Durante muchos años trabajó para Vogue y llegó a ser muy conocido por sus fotografías innovadoras en moda muchas veces en lugares peculiares y por documentar el Movimiento de Derechos Civiles. También fue conocido por sus autorretratos, y fotos de celebridades como Marilyn Monroe, Andy Warhol, John F. Kennedy, los Beatles e incluso Barack Obama en el 2004 .
   

0a3f6a985d7474dd2ac172d266f5cbe5nyc_345nyc_343

4. Stefan Segmeister
He is a graphic designer and typographer based in New York City. I first learned about him on my history of graphic design class at UVU. We watched a video about his creative process, and I instantly liked his work because its uniqueness and weirdness. He delivers branding, graphics and packaging for clients like the Rolling Stones, HBO, the Guggenheim Museum, among others.

Diseñador gráfico y tipógrafo con sede en Nueva York. Me enteré de él en mi clase de historia de diseño gráfico en UVU. Vimos un video sobre su proceso creativo, y al instante me gustó su trabajo por su singularidad y rareza. Él hace branding, gráficos y empaques para clientes como los Rolling Stones, HBO, el Museo Guggenheim, entre otros.

1671117-inline-ideas-in-graphic-design-76 2

5. Rodney Smith
I had the coolest opportunity to visit his house in Palisades, NY a few years ago with other UVU students. I got to see his work and some of his old archives!. He is a fashion and portrait photographer based in NY. I love everything about his work: he uses mainly natural light to illuminate his subjects and shoots mainly in black & white. Three words that would describe his work are classic, minimalistic and whimsical. One of my favorite works: “In the Land of the Light: Israel, a Portrait of It’s People” where he spent 100 days photographing the people of Jerusalem which later became his first published book.

Tuve la padrísima oportunidad de visitar su casa en Palisades, Nueva York hace unos años con otros estudiantes de UVU. Llegué a ver su trabajo y algunos de sus archivos antiguos!. Rodney es un fotógrafo de moda y retratos con sede en Nueva York. Me gusta mucho todo lo relacionado con su trabajo: usa principalmente luz natural y la mayoría de sus fotos son en blanco y negro. Tres palabras que podrían describir su trabajo son clásico, minimalista y encantador. Una de mis obras favoritas: “En la Tierra de la Luz: Israel, un retrato de su gente”, donde pasó 100 días tomando fotos de la gente de Jerusalén, que después se convirtió en su primer libro publicado.

yandhireynoso14

yandhireynoso13

yandhireynoso11

yandhireynoso9

yandhireynoso5

Each of these artists are very different and unique, but they have made a deep impression on my creative process, and will always be grateful I get to know about their work.

Cada uno de estos artistas son muy diferentes y únicos, pero han hecho una profunda impresión en mi proceso creativo, y siempre estaré agradecida de conocer su trabajo.

Thanks for reading!
Gracias por leer!

xo,

y

One thought on “5 artists that have influenced and inspired me

Leave a comment